< Back
/site/assets/files/1108/zeleznybrod-m.svg Vignette

The Železný Brod Town Museum

Železný Brod used to be a mining town for slate and iron ore in the 14th Century, while the local textile and glass industry only emerged in the 19th Century. Since 1860, the Town Museum has collected and exhibited objects of the every day life of local craftsmen within a scope of several centuries. The Museum we can see today was designed in 1936, and was originally intended to be an extension to the local Sparkasse bank. It is quite unusual that the architects managed to unite two contradictory functional purposes. On one hand, they pursued a modern concept for the museum, visible down to the present day in its plain design. On the other hand, they managed to gently integrate the shape of the existing historic architecture. The historical background for this decision was based on the successful prevention the demolition of the 1782 built Klemencovsko cabin. An arrangement of arcades was placed between the wooden gable and the corner of the building, topped by two statues. They were called »Work« and »Austerity« and were created in the 1930s. Today, the Museum showcases the regional history and the development of the glass industry. It also exhibits works from the school for glass design in Železný Brod, which, founded in 1920, was the first of its kind in Bohemia.

Náměstí 3. května 37, 468 22 Železný Brod
Jindřich Freiwald (1890 – 1945), Jaroslav Böhm (1892 – 1961)
Visit May – Sep. Tue – Sun 9 a.m. – 12 a.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m., Oct. – April only Sat and Sun 9 a.m. – 12 a.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.